Caution-Cuidado…adorable children ahead!

School started last week. Children go to school here in the village from first through fifth grade. The first day something unusual happens: all the students and parents helped the teachers CLEAN the classrooms! By the time I visited on Wednesday, the rooms were as sparking as could be and you could see the pride of ownership on all their faces. I had a really important task during my visit to the first and second grade class: cutting out animal faces from sheets of wrapping paper for the kids to paste on their workbooks. I had my own little cohort of helpers calling out as I cut a new one: Leon! Tigre! Oso! Yes, they were saying lions and tigers and bears. “Wizard of Oz Finds New Fans in Mexico,” the headline will read.

Nothing I could write will better describe the Ek Balam school than these pictures, so please enjoy them!

Ek Balam school 2Ek Balam schoolEk Balam school 4Ek Balam school 5Ek Balam school 6Ek Balam school 7Ek Balam school 8Ek Balam school 9Ek Balam school 10Ek Balam school 11Ek Balam school 13Ek Balam school 15Ek Balam school 16Ek Balam school 414Ek Balam school 17Ek Balam school 19Ek Balam school 418Ek Balam school 20Ek Balam school 21

About this entry